POLYPHONY: Voices of New Mexico



Polyphony is committed to education within the ensemble and to the greater community. By offering FREE musical events this season and making all of our concerts FREE to all full-time students, we are encouraging the younger demographic to attend our concerts. Within the ensemble we have always included high-school aged students on the roster, young talented singers who would benefit from singing more challenging repertoire than their school programs could afford them, and who benefit from the mentor-ship of singing alongside more seasoned professional singers.

Polyphony supports young singers in New Mexico by way of offering up to $500 in scholarship funds to a promising Young Artist winner, selected through a rigorous competitive process through the annual Vocal Artistry ArtSong Competition and Festival.

Winners who have received Polyphony's financial assistance include:

  Hannah Weeks, soprano, $500 scholarship winner pictured here with board member Kathleen Vinson
Hannah Weeks, soprano, $500 scholarship winner pictured here with board member Kathleen Vinson.
Vocal Artistry ArtSong Festival
2015 Young Artist Division winner: Rafael Salcido-Reyes
2014 Young Artist Division winner: Eve Gronert
2013 Music Education/Choral Division: Maximillian Contreras
2012 Emerging Artist Division: Paul Hunton
2010 Vocal Artistry Division: Kellie Dahlke-Fuentes
Each year Polyphony does their very best to include auditioned, talented, and promising highschool students as part of their vocal rosters. The 2016 Choral Scholar is Xavier Robinson. Born and raised in New Mexico, Xavier Robinson has been in the Choir of the Cathedral of St. John for one year, after being a Cathedral Chorister for seven years. He appeared in the Santa Fe Opera’s 2012 production of Tosca (Chorus) and their 2013 production of Noye’s Fludde (Ham). He is currently enrolled at St. Pius X High School, and enjoys singing with their choir. He is thrilled to have been selected as the 2016 Choral Scholar with Polyphony: Voices of New Mexico.